Embassy News
 Arts & Living
 Travel & Hotel
 Medical Tourism New
 Letters to Editor
 Photo Gallery
 News Media Link
 TV Schedule Link
 News English
 Hospitals & Clinics
 Flea Market
 Moving & Packaging
 Religious Service
 Korean Classes
 Korean Weather
 Real Estate
 Home Stay
 Room Mate
 English Teaching
 Job Offered/Wanted
 Hotel Lounge
 Foreign Exchanges
 Korean Stock
 Business Center
 PR & Ads
 Arts & Performances
 Restaurants & Bars
 Tour & Travel
 Shopping Guide
 Foreign Missions
 Community Groups
 Foreign Workers
 Useful Services
 ST Banner Exchange
New Executive Committee of Bangladesh Federal Union of Journalists (BFUJ)
By Ataur Rahman
Bangladesh Correspondent
Abdul Jalil Bhuyan

Abdul Jalil Bhuiyan of The Daily Star has been elected secretary general of Bangladesh Federal Union of Journalists (BFUJ).His panel swept the election held on Feb. (Saturday) 26, 2011.

Earlier, Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury, editor of the now defunct Bangladesh Observer, was elected its president unopposed. Ataur Rahman of Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha -BSS was elected Treasurer.

According the election commission, Jalil Bhuiyan was elected Secretary General of the BFUJ by defeating his contestant Molla Jalal with a margin of 330 votes. Bhuiyan bagged 879 votes while Molla Jalal secured 549 votes.

Meanwhile, Ataur Rahman of Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS) was elected Treasurer of the organization by defeating Kuddus Afrad of Daily Purbakon, Dhaka Bureau with a margin of 56 votes. Ataur Rahman secured 728 votes while Kuddus Afrad bagged 672 votes.

Dr. Utpal Kumar Sarkar was elected vice president in Dhaka division, Chitta Ghose in Rajshahi Division and Sajed Rahman in Khulna Division while Mustaq Ahmed was elected vice president from the Chittagong Union of Journalists (CUJ).

Saiful Islam Talukder was elected joint secretary general from Dhaka division, Asif Siraj from Chittagong division, Mah¬tab Chowdhury from Rajshahi division and Mozammel Haque from Khulna division.

Four executive committee members were elected from Dhaka Union of Journalists.They are Akram Hossain Khan of Ittefaq, Khairu-zzaman Kamal and Madhusudan Mondal of BSS and Rafiqul Islam Sabuj of Daily Samakal.

Four executive committee members were elected from Dhaka Union of Journalists.They are Akram Hossain Khan of Ittefaq, Khairu-zzaman Kamal and Madhusudan Mondal of BSS and Rafiqul Islam Sabuj of Samakal.

Anu Mostafa and Kazi Gias of Rajshahi Union of Journalists, Ataul Karim Khokon and Sultan Uddin Khan of Mymensingh Union of Journalists, Anwarul Islam Kajol and Mamun Reza of Khulna Union of Journalists, Kamolesh Mohonta Shanu and GM Sajal of Bogra Union of Journalists, Kamal Uddin Khokon and Tapon Chakraborty of Chittagong Union of Journalists, Kamrul Huda Helal and Ratan Singh of Journalists Union of Dinajpur and Zahidul Kabir Milton and Gopinath Das of Jessore Union of Journalists were also elected members.

Related Articles
    Nation of Bangladesh Celebrates Eid-ul-Fitr, ...
    Two Killed on 3rd Day Blockade
    All-party Gov't Formed for General Election
    152 to Die, 160 Get Life-Terms in BDR Carnage ...
    Bangladesh PM Sheikh Hasina Talks with UN Sec. ...
    Grateful Nation Pays Deep Homage to ...
    Bangladesh President Zillur Rahman Buried by ...
    S. Korean Ambassador to Bangladesh Lee ...
    At Least 46 People Killed in Bangladesh after ...
    South Korean Volunteers Arrive in Bangladesh
    Didn’t See ’71, But This Is Our War, ...
    Nation of Bangladesh Stood in Silence for 3 ...
    Cyclone Kills 27, Injures 100 in Bangladesh
    Bangladesh Celebrates Pahela Baishakh, 1st Day ...
    Ship with 300 Passengers Sinks in Bangladesh
    Execution of CHT Peace Treaty Priority for ...
    Bangladesh Becomes World Leader in Disaster ...
    UN Chief Ban Ki-Moon Arrives in Bangladesh
    Muslims of Bangladesh Celebrating Their ...
    44 Schoolboys Were Killed in Bangladesh
    YoungOne Resumes Operation in Bangladesh
    S. Korea-Based Company Young One Corp. Closes ...
    15 People Killed, 200 Injured in Train ...
    A Private Bangladeshi Ship Was Hijacked by ...
    Seoul to Ease Visa Process for Bangladeshi, ...
    117 people were killed in a massive fire ...
    1st Bangladeshi Journalist in World to ...
    Bangladesh PM Sheikh Hasina Returned Home
    Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina Left on a Six-Day ...
    Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina visit to Seoul ...
    1st Day Bengali Month Celebrated
    Govt Constitutes Tribunal to Try Heinous Crimes
    "Ratification of Rome Statute of International ...
    Bangladesh President Urges South Korea to ...
    International Mother Language Day Observed ...
    Korea-Bangladesh Chamber of Commerce and ...
    Bangladesh Executes 5 Killers of Bangabandhu, ...
    Toll Rises to 78 in Bangladesh Boat Mishap
    Apex Court Upholds Death Penalties of Ex-Army ...
    After Month-Long Fasting The Muslim World ...
    Ban Ki-Moon Assures Hasina of Continued UN ...
    One Swine Flu Patient Dies in Bangladesh
    Sheikh Hasina Ranks 78 among Forbes "Top 100" ...
    34th Anniversary of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur ...
    Demand for Constitutional Recognition of the ...
    "Move Away from Export-led Growth"
    Bangladesh Seeks International Help on More ...
    Migration Opportunities Can Cut Poverty
    Int'l Environmental Conference Begins in Dhaka
    Rains in Bangladesh Broke Half-Century Record

Mr. Ataur Rahman serves as Bangladesh Correspondent for The Seoul Times. He earned his Master of Commerce degree from Dhaka University in 1985. Mr. Rahman has vast journalistic experience including his stints at "The Daily Janata" and "The Dainik Bangla."






The Seoul Times Shinheungro 25-gil 2-6 Yongsan-gu, Seoul, Korea 04337 (ZC)
Office: 82-10-6606-6188
Copyrights 2000 The Seoul Times Company  ST Banner Exchange