Embassy News
 Arts & Living
 Travel & Hotel
 Medical Tourism New
 Letters to Editor
 Photo Gallery
 News Media Link
 TV Schedule Link
 News English
 Hospitals & Clinics
 Flea Market
 Moving & Packaging
 Religious Service
 Korean Classes
 Korean Weather
 Real Estate
 Home Stay
 Room Mate
 English Teaching
 Job Offered/Wanted
 Hotel Lounge
 Foreign Exchanges
 Korean Stock
 Business Center
 PR & Ads
 Arts & Performances
 Restaurants & Bars
 Tour & Travel
 Shopping Guide
 Foreign Missions
 Community Groups
 Foreign Workers
 Useful Services
 ST Banner Exchange
2009 World Cup Taekwondo Team Championships Wrap Up in Great Success
2009 World Cup Taekwondo Team Championships

The 2009 WTF World Cup Taekwondo Team Championships ended in a great success after four days of heated competitions in Baku, Azerbaijan on June 14, 2009.

Turkey and Russia showed their respective supremacy in taekwondo, while host Azerbaijan emerged as a strong taekwondo power.

In the women's division, Korea won the gold medal, while Russia clinched the silver. The bronze went to Turkey and Morocco. Korea managed to win over France 3-2 in a quarterfinal match before advancing to the semifinals, in which it edged Turkey 3-2.

In the men's division, Turkey brushed aside a stiff challenge of Iran to grab the gold medal. Iran had to settle for the silver, while Azerbaijan and Russia shared the bronze medal.

The World Cup featured WTF-recognized electronic protectors, the first of its kind in the WTF-promoted event. It also introduced an instant video replay system under new WTF Competition Rules. All these and others drew great interest from both the public and the global media.

No protests were recorded at the 2009 WTF World Cup Taekwondo Team Championships, with each team fielding five athletes.

All the competitions were conduced in a very orderly, dynamic atmosphere. The World Cup drew 23 male and 23 female teams from a total of 28 countries. After three days of round-robin preliminary rounds, the top eight team in the men's and women's division advanced to the quarterfinal round.

The Good Fighting Spirit Awards went to Canada, Great Britain and Egypt, while Uzbekistan, Brazil and China received Active Participation Prizes.

The Best Referee Awards went to Mr. Song Chul Kim of Canada, Ms. Jatuporn Hemwonno of Thailand, Mr. Samuel Michael Loiacono of Australia, Mr. Serge Sembona of France, and Ms. Barbara Ruth Marian of Canada.






The Seoul Times Shinheungro 25-gil 2-6 Yongsan-gu, Seoul, Korea 04337 (ZC)
Office: 82-10-6606-6188
Copyrights 2000 The Seoul Times Company  ST Banner Exchange